Day 122: Sweet and Sour Stir-fry…and 2014

Sweet and sour tofu stir-fry with rice noodles is what I made for our New Year’s Eve dinner. It is a meal that takes a long time to prepare but it sooo worth it. Tomorrow starts a new calendar year but also wraps up our initial 123 day No takeout challenge. We survived and thrived. Thank you to everyone who has cheered us on over these few months. Reading comments and having followers really bolstered my spirit and kept the challenge fun.

As the year wraps up, our challenge has brought us to the next stage – a new challenge to begin tomorrow along with the new calendar year. You will hear about this in tomorrow’s post :-). Apart from resolutions, goals, accomplishments, and other things that I strive for, there are still things that weigh on my heart. Growing my family with my husband has brought some of the greatest joy and love I have ever known and never could have imagined. My dear daughter is now 7 months old and I literally thank this universe for her every day (probably several times a day). In some respects I would chalk 2014 up as the year I got everything I never knew I wanted (a baby! year 2 of marriage! a cat! a ‘family’ sticker for our car!). I have also come to learn in a bigger way that family is not always biological and that’s okay too. Holidays are supposed to be filled with joy and glee but they can also coincide with an emptiness that people feel and may not talk about. This was the first holiday season that felt *right* for me. I didn’t let the real or imagined expectations eat at me – perhaps for the first time in my entire life. 2014 has been about growth, change, new life (<3 Juliet), and accepting that sometimes people simply do not have a healthy place in our lives, even loved ones. It is with this acceptance and my willingness to start living my values in a bigger way, that I will be entering 2015. Wishing you all a safe, healthy, and happy 2015.

Happy Blogging,

Erin

3 thoughts on “Day 122: Sweet and Sour Stir-fry…and 2014

Leave a Reply

