Day 118: How much time has drive-thru coffee cost you?

This is a question I have thought about quite a bit these past 118 days. We used to hit the  Starbucks drive through every morning on our way home from the gym, plus weekends and some evenings. Have you ever sat in the Starbucks drive through line on a Saturday afternoon? It would not be an exaggeration to say the average wait time is around 10 mins, and I am being very nice here.  I know that there have been many times we waited longer than 10 minutes.  If on average, we sat in the drive through line for 7 minutes each trip, 7 days a week,  1-2 time per day (for the sake of math we’ll average it out to 10 total Starbucks visits per one week) this would mean we are spending an average of 70 minutes each week sitting in a line waiting to get coffee. That is more than one hour (I won’t bother to add in the gas that is wasted while the engine runs). I don’t know about you, but I can think of many ways I would rather be spending my hour.  Sitting in a line waiting can be stressful, a source of discontent.

One hundred twenty three days is 4 months or approximately 18 weeks. 70 minutes times 18 = 1,260 minutes or 21 hours. 21 HOURS. Let me repeat…21 HOURS. Wow.  This is not how I want to be spending my time. The more I am away from modern “conveniences” the more they appear to be inconveniences and really not saving us time at all.

How much time has the convenience of the drive-thru cost you?

Picture1

4 thoughts on “Day 118: How much time has drive-thru coffee cost you?

    1. I am sure I have lost many days waiting in the drive thru line with my husband. I would say 7 minutes is being kind. We have waited much longer to get coffee and feeling annoyed while complaining the car ahead of us could just move up. Maybe it’s a New York thing, lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

