Day 39: Dining out: a social mechanism

Okay, I thought our planned ‘work arounds’ for my father-in-law’s visit was going to be the end of the dilemmas. Nope, it’s not. My coworkers are planning a small party for the Assistant Vice President of our unit who is making a lateral transfer. And guess what the celebration idea is…yes this is a rhetorical question. I can’t believe it! I haven’t had so many occasions to eat out socially ever in my life and now it seems I am being faced with this scenario every other week.

I actually hesitate to tell people that I am participating in a “no takeout” challenge.  Partly I feel a little embarrassed, like I am exposing myself (to their judgement maybe??).  But inevitably, I end up confessing my no takeout pledge. Ironically, the people who I end up telling have nothing but positive feedback and are encouraging. Usually they throw in a good chuckle. 🙂

Thirty nine days into this challenge, I am having a few realizations. (1) we live in a culture of convenience (this is obvious), but the degree to which food (specifically dining out, grabbing a bite, having coffee, etc…) has become a mechanism to socialize, is huge. I generally participate without second thought. I had not realized how much of my social life revolves around food and spending money.

(2) Not eating outside of the home actually places a person/family outside of mainstream culture (at least here in Upstate NY). Most people in my acquaintance would not take this challenge. In fact, the majority of people I know eat outside of the home, order takeout, grab lunch or morning coffee, on a daily basis. Thirty-five years ago (1977-1978), people got about 18 percent of their daily calories from prepared foods while today that figure is near 50% (http://www.urmc.rochester.edu/encyclopedia/content.aspx?ContentTypeID=1&ContentID=2894).

I have mentioned before that my husband and I only own one vehicle – by choice.  This is also inconceivable to most families I know.

I’m curious…do you have any aspect(s) of your daily life that falls outside of the mainstream norm?

8 thoughts on “Day 39: Dining out: a social mechanism

  1. Me, mum and dad have never nad a car. I wouldnt be safe driving, i love looking out the window too much and the scenery, also my concentration is pretty poor so I would be a hazard on the roads, 😊😊😊

    I do love traveling on public transport though, i meet alot of people, x x x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I ended up Erin having to forget about the lovely. Blog award, i was wanting to nominate you but I didnt have the energy to do all the writing so I had a cup of coffee instead, , sorreeeee,😳😳😳😳

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Outside the daily norm? I don’t watch TV. Like, never. I wouldn’t know what’s on and we don’t have it tuned in.

    I also don’t drink coffee, and often feel quite awkward when friends invite me for a coffee. I go along all right, but then feel odd sitting there having a juice, because I really can’t face spending $4-5 for a teabag and some hot water (I’ll drink tea…sometimes).

    That’s about all I can think of…for now 🙂 But hey, what’s wrong with being an oddball? The world needs more of us, I think!

    Like

    1. TV is a big one – good for you. I am totally into PBS (public broadcast station). But with a 4 month old, I try not to sit in front of the TV at the end of the night as the lights and colors attract her and she ends up staring at the screen.
      Our family also has 1 car so we have to plan, share & communicate our plans (GASP!). None of my friends can fathom a family of 4 with 1 car. As I get older I am starting to embrace these *unique* qualities. Thank you for checking out my page, it’s so nice to have visitors.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just don’t miss TV at all. What I *do* wonder is how anyone can find time for it! Seriously. How *do* people find time for television? I have absolutely no idea.

        Like

  4. Yep. We sure do. We haven’t had television reception since before the kids were born. We have a TV with a Roku box so we occasionally watch older shows off the internet although since we live out in the country, our connection is sllooooooowwwwww… My daughter confused her Kindergarten teacher when asked what her favorite TV show was. She said, “We don’t get that channel. We just get the one with the fuzzy man.” (Meaning static).

    We also function with a working mom and a stay-at-home dad. And… we cram a family of 5 in a Prius because we don’t believe we need the extra room of a minivan or SUV.

    Like

Leave a Reply

